Excellence in Nursing

Excellence in Nursing Awards


The remarkable efforts of nurses in St. Louis often go unnoticed. They consistently exhibit selfless care, compassion and service. To honor these dedicated nurses, St. Louis Magazine is hosting its 11th annual Excellence in Nursing Awards, presented by Goldfarb School of Nursing at Barnes-Jewish College and BJC HealthCare.

We received more than 300 submissions for this year's awards, which the selection committee then carefully narrowed to 62 exceptional finalists across 19 categories.

Read about the 2020 honorees here and in St. Louis Magazine's May 2020 issue.

With crowd gatherings of more than 50 people in St. Louis currently prohibited to slow the spread of COVID-19, the reception has been postponed. We look forward to recognizing the honorees at a future date. Details will be forthcoming.


Goldfarb Logo


Sarah Thompson
Dean of the University of Missouri School of Nursing

Phyllis Zimmer
Founder of the Nurse Practitioner Healthcare Foundation

Brigit Van Graafeiland
Assistant professor at John Hopkins University School of Nursing

Debra Harrison
Current executive coach at MEDI, and former chief nursing officer for Mayo Clinic

Debra Toney
President of the National Coalition of Ethnic Minority Nurse Associations (NCEMNA)

Rita F. D’Aoust
Associate dean for teaching and learning at Johns Hopkins

Carli Zegers
Assistant professor at the University of Missouri-Kansas City

Dr. Rebecca Harris-Smith
Dean of Nursing and Allied Health, South Louisiana Community College
Board of Directors, National Black Nurses Association