Excellence in Nursing

Excellence in Nursing

Excellence in Nursing 2019 Logo

How has a nurse impacted your life? St. Louis Magazine is looking to honor nurses who go above and beyond the call of duty—whether it be a nurse from a private practice, hospital system, or school; a nurse who specializes in home care, pediatrics, surgery, or education. Help recognize those who provide outstanding care by submitting a nomination for SLM's 2020 Excellence in Nursing Awards.

Nominate a nurse who has made a difference in someone's life. The winners and their impressive achievements will be recognized in the May issue of St. Louis Magazine and on, as well as at our annual Excellence in Nursing reception.

Nomination Period Begins: September 16

Entry Deadline: November 18

Finalists Announced: Early February 2020

Winners Announced: In the May 2020 issue of St. Louis Magazine and at the Excellence in Nursing reception



Goldfarb Logo


Sarah Thompson
Dean of the University of Missouri School of Nursing

Phyllis Zimmer
Founder of the Nurse Practitioner Healthcare Foundation

Brigit Van Graafeiland
Assistant professor at John Hopkins University School of Nursing

Debra Harrison
Current executive coach at MEDI, and former chief nursing officer for Mayo Clinic

Debra Toney
President of the National Coalition of Ethnic Minority Nurse Associations (NCEMNA)

Rita F. D’Aoust
Associate dean for teaching and learning at Johns Hopkins

Carli Zegers
Assistant professor at the University of Missouri-Kansas City

Dr. Rebecca Harris-Smith
Dean of Nursing and Allied Health, South Louisiana Community College
Board of Directors, National Black Nurses Association